This site is going through the process of a re-vamp.
BIRDING QUEENSLAND
RED MILL HOUSE in DAINTREE

Birdwatching Guides
Tropical North Queensland has some excellent birdwatching and photographic guides available to lead visiting birders and nature photographers around the region. We have listed a few below.
 
Land based tour Guides
Wild Watch Australia - Jonathon Munro - www.wildwatch.com.au
Alan's Wildlife Tours - Alan Gillanders - www.alanswildlifetours.com.au
Birdwatching Tropical Australia - Doug Herrington - www.birdwatchingtropicalaustralia.com.au
Close-up Birding Adventures - David (Chook) Crawford - www.closeupbirding.com.au
Fine Feather Tours - Del Richards - www.finefeathertours.com.au
 
Daintree River Specialists
Daintree Boatman Nature Tours - Murray Hunt - www.daintreerivertours.com.au
Daintree River Wild Watch - Ian (Sauce) Worcester - www.daintreeriverwildwatch.com.au
 

Information on Birding in Tropical North Queensland
 
Birder Friendly Accommodation
The Queensland Wet Tropics region has birder friendly accommodation ranging from luxury tree houses and B&Bs to cabins and camping grounds. Here are a few
 
Daintree - Red Mill House in Daintree www.redmillhouse.com.au
Julatten - Kingfisher Park Birdwatching Lodge www.birdwatchers.com.au
Malanda - Rosegums Wilderness Retreat - www.rosegums.com.au
Mission Beach - Licuala Lodge - www.licualalodge.com.au
Port Douglas - Thala Beach Nature Reserve - www.thalabeach.com.au
Kuranda - Cassowary House - www.cassowary-house.com.au
 
 
 
 
 
 
http://www.redmillhouse.com.au/birdwatching/daintree-bird-species/southern-cassowary
Southern Cassowary - Robert South
Red Mill House Guest
Australian Birding Field Guides
 
Australia is blessed with four excellent national Birdwatching Field Guides:
Simpson & Day's "Field Guide to the Birds of Australia"
Pizzey & Knight's "The Field Guide to the Birds of Australia"
Slaters' The Slater Field Guide to Australian Birds", and
Morcombe's "Field Guide to Australian Birds".

There are also two birding smartphone "Apps":
Morcombe's "eGuide to the Birds of Australia", and
Pizzey and Knight's "Birds of Australia Digital Edition for iOS and Android".

Other excellent resourses are:
Lloyd Nielsen's "Directory for Birders - International Edition, and
Thomas and Thomas's "The Complete Guide to Finding Birds in Australia"
Jo Wieneke's "Where to find BIRDS in North East Queensland"
Birdwatching Web Resources for Queensland's Wet Tropics
 
Bird Life Australia - www.birdlife.org.au
Lloyd Nielsen's Birding Australia - www.birdingaustralia.com.au
Klaus Uhlenhut's Ausbird - www.ausbird.com.au
Eremaea - www.eremaea.com
Daintree Birdwatching - www.daintreebirdwatching.com.au
Bird Trails Tropical Queensland - www.birdingtnq.com.au
 
 
 
 
birding_queensland_index002003.jpg
Home
birding_queensland_index002002.gif
Contact us